Crescent Heights (1906 - )

Crescent Heights began in 1906 when A.J. McArthur subdivided a quarter-section of land south of 16th Avenue NW, and began selling lots. In 1908, the Village of Crescent Heights was founded, with 24th Avenue North as its northern boundary and 8th Avenue North as its southern, and by 1910, had a firehall and a school, before being swept up in that year’s massive annexation by Calgary. Shortly after, the City provided an upgraded firehall, and in 1913, Calgary’s first branch library opened in Crescent Heights in the Hicks Block; it is still standing. To replace the 1907 bridge across the Bow River, the City built Centre Street Bridge in 1916, improving Crescent Heights’ connection to downtown; streetcars beginning in 1911 also improved the connection. During the 1950s, the community expanded to the south and east, absorbing portions of Beaumont, Regal Terrace and ‘old’ Mount Pleasant. Today, Crescent Heights has evolved into a vibrant inner-city neighborhood.

To learn more: